A Mom in Uganda

_MG_9127

I stumbled across this old email from Danielle Hurley in Uganda. Danielle is the wife of Shannon Hurley who is over SOS Ministries. This is the family we will be partnering with during our Emmaus Uganda trip. Although it is now February, I was encouraged by this thanksgiving post and thought I would pass it along.

Happy Thanksgiving! This Thanksgiving I have been extraordinarily thankful to be a mom in Uganda, and I’d like to share a few of the reasons with you.  I am especially thankful to raise my children in a 3rd world village because:

1.     Where else would I live that wouldn’t have a grocery store closer than a 2 hour drive, which forces me to stay at home and fulfill my priorities?

2.     Where else would I be able to serve my church body throughout the week and visit their homes who are all within walking distance?

3.     Where else would my children be exposed to poverty on such a personal level that they ask me if they can give away their clothing and shoes to their friends in need (as opposed to comparing the abundance of wealthy neighbors)?

4.     Where else would my children be able to hop on boda bodas (motorcycle taxis) without me after Sunday lunch and travel together to a Muslim village to teach a children’s Bible study?

5.     Where else would my kids ask to tutor their friends who are actually excited to come to our house for tutoring by kids their own age?

6.     Where else would I be able to be such a close partner with my husband in serving the Lord, where our home is the headquarters for ministry?

7.     Where else would I live next door to my ministry partners who are only a few steps away for a sweet hug or word of advice?

8.     Where else would I live where my kids are thrilled to receive an imported treat like a couple of grapes?

Is it hard living in a 3rd world country? At times it is, but the blessings far outweigh the challenges. The little blessings are sweet gifts from God’s very hand. This year, I am acutely reminded of my Shepherd’s tender care for His sheep, in particular our family. I know that your Shepherd has poured special blessings on you in your specific location or circumstance, and if you look for them, you will find wonderful nuggets where you least expect them.

Leave a Reply

